Let’s talk training: Lessons learned

13 11 2014

IMG_1877.PNG
I’ll be up front, my mind is very focused on the Richmond Marathon. This will be mine on Saturday afternoon.

IMG_2608.JPG
I have learned a lot the year.

-I require a lot of recovery for runs longer than 14 or 15 miles. I don’t bounce back from on LONG run fast, I’ve listened to my body and took time to heal before I run again.

-Marathon training=weight gain. It happens, and you just have to deal with it. It’s not a good time to diet.

-Half marathons are awesome.

-Glucosamine is a lifesaver. My knees are super achy without it.

-Sleep is very necessary, without it I can’t keep running.

-Running in different time zones is hard, but if you west, stay in your timezone and race day wake up call won’t be so hard!

What lessons have you learned?


Actions

Information

One response

14 11 2014
Sarah M.

Good luck in Richmond tomorrow! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

Leave a comment