20 miles #richmondready

28 10 2014

IMG_2277.PNG
20 miles is the “it” number for marathon training. I guess another 10k is supposed to be simple? I’m not sold on the fact that I can do it, but I did run 20 miles, and it took me under 4 hours to do it (3hrs 48min 51sec to be exact) !

It’s taken me a while to embrace a slower pace, and I’m by no means speedy. I like to keep a 10min/mile pace, but I can’t keep that pace for a marathon. For the first 16 miles I was pretty close to 11:15min/mile, but after 16.5 I slowed down, and walked more. I wish I had time for one more LONG run, but the race is less than 3 weeks away, and I’d like fully recovered legs over one more run.

On top of recovering from 20 miles, I’m trying to recover from a weird bug bite.

IMG_2191.JPG
This was Saturday (bite happened Tuesday) it looks much better now. Hopefully a few more days of antibiotics and I’ll being good shape.

Now it’s time to taper, I want to keep my 2 short runs during the week and a longer run on the weekends, race week I’ll take it super easy. I think I’m #richmondready

Actions

Information

7 responses

28 10 2014
Jen Rawson, RD (@PrettyLilGrub)

I agree with you it seems so crazy to have another 10km to go on race day. I’m running my first marathon this weekend. I’m certainly hoping that my training holds up. Its scary though.

29 10 2014
halfmarathonmama

Good luck, I hoping adrenaline will kick in!

28 10 2014
Melanie @ Runnergirlinarockingworld

You are ready!! 🙂

29 10 2014
halfmarathonmama

Thanks!!

29 10 2014
Sarah M.

Good luck! I can’t wait to hear how it goes! I know you’ll do great!

29 10 2014
halfmarathonmama

Thanks!

6 11 2014
Lacey@fairytalesandfitness

Congrats on your 20 miler. Hope you are recovering well from it.

Leave a Reply

