Less than 5 weeks-training recap

14 10 2014

My marathon is 32 days away. Wow, it’s so close. I’ve been doing a lot of tweaking on my training. It’s easy to write out a perfect schedule for several months, but real life always adds obstacles.

My 15 mile run went well, I finished it, and was still able to walk. But I was sore for several days. I wanted to run 16 the next weekend, but between not sleeping well, thunderstorms, feeling achy, and having really bad burps(tmi?), I ran 4. I was really sore and achy after just 4 miles, so I got new shoes. I’m bad about logging my mileage with shoes. Then I worked, so no long run.

My 17 mile run was successful, in the fact that I completed it. It was not a pain free run, but honestly I ran from one side of town to the other AND back. I don’t that is supposed to feel great. I foam rolled, and tried to refuel. Eating after running is hard, it takes a while for my stomach to want food…..then it’s:

IMG_0134.JPG
I had a sports/deep tissue massage the following day, and finally felt recovered about 5 days later. Long runs are hard on my body.

This weekend I ran 6 miles on the treadmill, it’s been very rainy, and I don’t have time for slipping on wet pavement. I ran 8×800, I hate 800s and I love 800s. They are tough, but also make the miles go by! I had time to run long, but I think it would have been too much. Training is supposed to be hard, but it’s not supposed to cause injuries. I need recovery time between long distances. I know others can run back to back, but I can’t, I’m learning to listen to my body (it can be pretty loud)!

Unfortunately, I work this weekend, so I won’t be able to get a long run in. Marathon training would be much easier to manage if it was my job! It can be very overwhelming to juggle kids/family, work and running.

I’ve got a fun LONG, LONG run planned in 2 weekends, I haven’t settled on an exact distance, but it will be my last before race day. Then, I want to really give my body a chance to heal.

I’ve heard that marathon training will make you gain weight. I was hoping this wasn’t true, but if you are planning on training for a marathon I have one piece of advice:
IMG_0135.JPG
Is it that I’m eating more calories than I’m burning, that I’ve gained so much muscle, or my cortisol levels are extra high because of the physical stress of training? I don’t know the answer.

I am excited to Run Richmond, but I will be happy when it’s over. There are some other marathons I want to run, but I don’t see the name of the blog changing to Marathon Mama anytime soon.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment