Galloway Monday-nutrition and fuel

23 06 2014

Running nutrition is pretty important! I’m a little ritualistic about pre-run/race nutrition, but during my run I’m still tweeking my nutrition.

I usually run in the morning (especially now that summer is here. Before I run I eat a Larabar.

20140622-124556-45956487.jpg
Chocolate Chip Cherry Torte is my FAVORITE!!!! But I’ll eat pretty much any of them. If it’s a short run, a Lara bar is enough, longer runs I also have a banana or applesauce. I have a cup of coffee as well, coconut milk creamer is good for running-dairy and running can get ugly. Race days often involve a little more food, no dairy or gluten though!

During my run I drink water, and sometimes I set up a Gatorade stop at the house. I tried out a new water bottle, and I liked it. My bottle looks like this:

20140622-130410-47050158.jpg
I carried my phone and nutrition in the pouch. I’m not sure it was a great idea, I had to be careful getting my chews out.

I like Gatorade chews, cliff bar chews, and salted caramel gu. Those are my go to nutrition choices. I take something every 4 miles, during a race I try to time it with water stops, so it’s not always exact, also I take something at mile 11, not 12. It’s my pick me up for the end (in a half).

Long run this week was 7 miles. The first 4 miles-I ran 1 mile walked 1 minute. The last 3 miles I did a 4:1 ratio. Same pace for both! 7 miles in 1:14 is decent.

This really isn’t new news on me, but check out Powered by Bling, and Pretty ‘lil Mudder for other nutrition ideas.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 06 2014
followthebling

I have that Nathan bottle in pink – love it! I’m a huge fan if Lara bars too for their unprocessed nutrition. Have you tried their new ReNola? It’s a perfect snack to grab a handful and go! If you do yogurt, it would be great on some plain Greek with blueberries!!

23 06 2014
halfmarathonmama

I’m going to check it out!

23 06 2014
Montana

I like Larabars and Gu! I’m kind of obsessed with the chocolate flavor of Gu right now. And I use things like Nunn hydration and stuff. I was writing my post at 5 am this morning so I guess I was too tired to include that stuff lol.

Leave a Reply

