The marathon winner

13 06 2014

I have decided on a marathon…

Route 66

in Tulsa, Ok (home) on November 23.

20140613-221728-80248243.jpgimage from newson6.com

Many factors influence my decision:
1) no travel=less stress, especially with 2 kids
2) sleeping in my own bed
3) Morgan has a work retreat the weekend of 2 of the races I was thinking about
4) a special First Marathon medal
5) family and friends can support me
6) it was my first half, so it’s kinda cool to make if my first full too

I’ve mapped out a training plan. It’s good use of nervous energy-how the heck am I going to run 26.2 miles?

20140613-222638-80798144.jpg
I’m still working out all the training details, what should my longest run be? When to do hills or speed work? Can I fit in another half this fall?

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 06 2014
Sarah M.

Yay! I’m so excited for you! I don’t think you’ll regret this choice.
My longest run will be 20 miles. We try to do hills/tempo runs on Thursdays and we try to make sure that our long runs on the weekends have some hills sprinkled in too.

16 06 2014
halfmarathonmama

I just don’t understand how 20 miles is enough training??? But I’m leaning towards that being my longest. And hills are a necessity-Tulsa is hillier than we think 🙂

17 06 2014
Sarah M.

I thought the exact same thing when I was training for my marathon. Most marathon training plans either stop at 20 or 22 miles. If you can run that far, what’s another 10k? Plus, marathons are hard on your body. so after you run the 20 miler, you’ll need time to let your body rest to get ready for the 26.

Leave a Reply

