Galloway Method Mondays: Getting Started with Galloway

2 06 2014

Today I’m starting a series with Cassandra from Powered by Bling, Montana from Pretty ‘lil Mudder, and Heather from Shorty Runs for Galloway Method Mondays.

We are all in different stages of training for various distances. Each Monday we will write about our training with the Galloway Method, hoping to inspire others on their journey! Today we are just Getting Started with Galloway.

If you are unfamiliar with the Galloway method, let me try to summarize. Jeff Galloway is an American Olympian, author of several books, and running coach. His running plan is a run-walk-run approach. There are several benefits to the Galloway method; less fatigue, faster recovery, often faster times (avg.7 min over 13.1 miles!).

For my first 2 half marathons I strictly ran, I took a few walk breaks at water stops. While training for my 3rd half, I tried running 1 mile, then walking 1 minute. I did a 10 mile run, my pace was very close to normal, and I recovered quickly.

With Dumbos Double Dare in August, and a full marathon this fall (still not sure which one) I really think the run-walk-run method will save my legs, and help me increase my distance.

Based in my goal pace of 10min/mile, Galloway recommends a run:walk ratio of 3:1. I like my 1mile run 1minute walk. I think I will play around with the ratio for a while.

20140531-114656-42416863.jpgeven Jeff recommends playing around, until it feels right. I have a feeling that 3 minutes is too short of a run for me, but who knows!

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 06 2014
Powered by BLING (@PoweredbyBLING)

Dumbos Double Dare!!!??? Sounds like Jeff’s gonna be very helpful at saving those legs. But, I’m with you, Bethany, on looking at the recommended pace and being like what?. I’m a back of the packer at the moment and for my 15-16 minute mile (that’s an improvement too!), Jeff recommends 30sec/45sec. I just can’t see only running for 30 secs. It’s hard enough only running for 1 minute. I have the app set to 1:1 right now and seem to be doing fine, but I’m game with you to try and do a run based on his recommended ratios. My next run I’m going to try it. Cassandra

16 06 2014
first time marathon-er

When someone writes an piece of writing he/she maintains the thought of a user in his/her brain
that how a user can know it. Thus that’s why this
piece of writing is outstdanding. Thanks!

28 07 2014
Dentist

Dentist

Galloway Method Mondays: Getting Started with Galloway | Half Marathon Mama

7 08 2014
android monitoring

You need to be a part of a contest for one of the most useful blogs online.
I am going to recommend this web site!

15 08 2014
Willard

Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after
browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

