ITBS

29 11 2013

I’ve been trying to write this post for a few days, but I don’t want it to come out all Debbie Downer-ish. I went to my orthopedist the other day, and got the official diagnosis of ITBS. This is not a surprise, I’ve been dealing with my right IT band for a long time. KT tape helps, but for 2 days after the race I couldn’t bend my leg. Morgan wanted to be sure there was nothing else going on (meniscus). I have at least 4 races planned for 2014, so if there was something more serious I needed to address it. My doctor feels very confident that structurally my knee is fine.

I’m not letting my IT band problems hold me back, I’m going to start PT next week, I even ran 3.1 this morning. I wasn’t interested in running in the cold again, so I turkey trotted treadmill style. It took a few minutes to warm up, but I was surprisingly not sore or tired. My legs felt really fresh! Following my run, I did a little Black Friday shopping. I only went to one store, and spent too much money on running clothes. Lululemon is my weakness.

My plan for Disney is to have FUN. I want to take pictures, take in the sights, and really enjoy the experience. I found my self getting very distracted by everything going on around me in Rt 66, it makes 13.1 miles go by much faster and easier. I don’t have time goals for the race, I figure I can get distracted, stop for characters and still finish well before 3:30.

So basically, I told you I have IT band problems, then blew off discussing it. I’m supposed to do PT 3x/week for 6 weeks. I also plan on adding back a few days of strength training. I’ve been so focused on running, I have don’t anything else. This isn’t healthy, I need some cross training and strength added in. We have a spin bike (currently sitting in our living room) and it needs some love from me-Cardio, without pounding the pavement.

Maybe next time ill talk about our new paleo lifestyle. It’s so complicated, it makes my brain hurt.

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 11 2013
happylifehealthylife

I feel your pain! I’ve been dealing with IT band problems since August 😦 That’s great you managed to get a run in today, and also that you’ve recognized the importance of cross-training! It’s easy to feel like you’re stuck in a rut when your main form of exercise is hampered a bit…I hope you enjoy some new activities!

29 11 2013
halfmarathonmama

Hope you find relief soon. It is so frustrating!

30 11 2013
Running Girl

I have dealt with IT issues for the past two years. Like you, I’m head strong and refuse to let it stop me. Stretching, foam rolling, ice and/or heat keep me going. Now it’s just one of those “niggling” things that’s there when I run. I have switched though from running 6 days a week to 4 days with 2 days on my rower. Adding your bike into the mix will definitely help you – aside from keeping your cardio up, you will strengthen muscles in your legs and hips that you usually don’t target when you run.
Don’t let this beat you! I’m here to tell you that this is just an inconvenience that you CAN deal with. Stay positive!

30 11 2013
halfmarathonmama

IT got me down before, this time it’s just annoying. It’s the same amount of pain, but I’m more determined this time around. I have fallen in love with running!

1 12 2013
Brooke

I feel you on the ITBS – it kept me from running all last year. But I did PT to strengthen my hips/hip flexors, quads, and hammies and invested in a foam roller and I’m a believer. The foam roller is the reason I can run today and the reason I was able to rock a full marathon last month AND do a 10 miler the following week. If you don’t have one – get one. Pool running helps some too when your body needs a break from running. And when you feel the pain come on, stop & stretch. I’m a better listener of body now and it has made a world of difference.

1 12 2013
halfmarathonmama

We have a large foam roller and various small “sticks” for the same purpose. I’m looking forward to PT, even though Morgan says I will probably cry..graston technique on my list of activities. My problem right now is I can stretch snd fi roll all day and I still hurt. Hoping for strengthening activities to fix my imbalance.

Leave a Reply

