First Official Training Run

20 06 2010

Saturday morning was the kick-off party for the Runner’s World Route 66 Half and Full Marathon Training. I am in the beginner half 11-12 min/mile group. My group’s name is Hot 2 Trot! Saturdays are for long runs, this week was only 3 miles. We were supposed to be going slower than normal…that way we can finish the longer runs, but it was really just a normal run. I didn’t time myself, nor to do I know what time we actually started, so I don’t know how long I was running. I was ahead of my group leader, who was keeping a 12 min/mile pace.

It was hot and HUMID outside, but I felt fine. It is much easier to run without pushing Parker. I will need to slow down when we start increasing distance.

HYDRATION-I did a great job drinking water on Friday. I knew I would need it. I stopped at 3 water stations on the run, and had a few cups after the run. However, the rest of the day I was not so good with my water drinking. I need to work on that.

What do I eat before/after? Before I ran I had a piece of wheat toast with peanut butter and honey. After I ran I had watermelon and a Larabar.

I’ve never had a larabar before, but I have read good things. It was yummy!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

